June 1, 2015

Contact: Brenda Flood; 

Cal Poly College of Architecture & Environmental Design Awards $70,000 to Support Teacher-Scholar Activity

SAN LUIS OBISPO — Six faculty members in Cal Poly’s College of Architecture & Environmental Design (CAED) have been named 2015-16 Teacher-Scholar Award recipients.

The awards, totaling $70,000, are made possible with support from the William Randolph Hearst Foundation and AVRP Studios, a San-Diego based company offering planning, architecture, and interior design services.  

The awards are designed to foster a culture of intellectual experimentation and curricular innovation that will provide CAED students and faculty with opportunities to further their professional development and enhance the present and future quality of the built environment.

“This funding will allow us to provide time and resources for faculty and students to engage in new and energizing forms of scholarly work,” said Christine Theodoropoulos, dean of the CAED. “We are truly grateful to the William Randolph Hearst Foundation and AVRP Studios.”

Three faculty members will receive funding to employ Hearst Student-Scholar Fellows: Meridith Sattler, assistant professor of architecture, Sandy Stannard, professor of architecture, and Joe Ragsdale, associate professor of landscape architecture.

Ed Saliklis, professor of architectural engineering, was named the Hearst Teacher-Scholar Fellowship recipient; Mark Cabrinha, associate professor of architecture, received  the Hearst Scholarship in Education award; and Dale Clifford, assistant professor of architecture, was the AVRP Studios Housing Innovation Award recipient.   

A jury composed of the college’s associate deans and department heads and distinguished external peers reviewed the award applications. The jury included Kate Schwennsen, FAIA, former AIA president, professor and director of the School of Architecture at Clemson University; Michael Fifield, FAIA, AICP, professor of architecture at the University of Oregon; and Bruce Danziger, SE, associate principal at Arup-Los Angeles, Cal Poly architectural engineering alumnus, and member of the CAED Dean’s Leadership Council.


# # #